Latest BLOG post

    Criteria for the approval of an Assessment Quality Partner

    The QCTO will appoint an entity as an assessment quality partner only if it is satisfied that the entity has: i.      The necessary expertise, experience and standing in relation to the occupational qualifications or foundational learning for which the assessment quality partner is appointed; and ii.      the resources necessary to perform its functions In terms of clause of the QCTO Delegation Policy, 22 June 2011 the criteria have been defined in detail as follows: i.     be  recommended  to  the  QCTO  by  the  relevant      DQP  during  the occupational                           development  process at a point  when they submit  an occupational profile. Possible evidence: letter of recommendation from [...]

    Types of Accreditation

    Print Friendly, PDF & Email

    Basically there are three different types of accreditation.

    1. PERSONS ACCREDITATION (Technically you cannot accredited a person. The more acceptable term used by most is “SETA Certified Person”, or “SETA Qualified Person”, like an Trainer, Assessor or Moderator

    2. PROGRAMME ACCREDITATION (Again, you cannot accredit a object, although most of us still say this. The correct terminology to use is “SETA Approved” or “SETA Certified” programme.)

    • The actual programme must be designed according to Unit Standards (found on SAQA website).
    • The programme must be submitted to the relevant SETA for approval – letter of approval is only valid for 3 years.

    So the programme carries its own accreditation letter.

    In order to become and Accredited Training Provider through any of the SETA’s, you need the following.

    • Accredited Trainers (only required by some SETA’s)
    • Accredited Assessors
    • Accredited Moderators
    • At least one accredited Programme
    • QMS (Set of policy documents and procedures)
    • Venue, offices and resources.
    • Registered with the DHET.